Posted by: rdkpickle | 01.09.2013

one good thing

I have written about this before, but I am incredibly lucky to have a colleague in my department who is also a very close friend outside of work. It would take pages to list the ways she has helped me to grow professionally – both as we work together to plan our courses, and in the way we rely on each others’ advice to navigate the different situations that arise each day as a matter of course.

One thing that Molly started doing in the fall was taking time each day to focus on one positive thing that happened, then writing it down – to put in a jar labeled with the quote “every day may not be good, but there is something good thing in every day.”

every-day-may-not-be-good

Throughout the fall, we sometimes shared our “good things” from the day – and I found it to be not only a nice thing to do (it’s therapeutic to talk about your day with someone), but actually a way to keep me really focused on the positive: a reminder of  how our small daily interactions can actually have meaningful consequences. On the hardest teaching days, sifting through to remember those good things can be a way to make sure the stress, the exhaustion, and the various tough situations we face as teachers don’t drown out the small moments that are gems.

So, I stole the idea (something I find myself doing frequently – it’s nice to be surrounded by creative, intelligent people!) and made it social and collaborative. The group blog one good thing is a shared space where we are just beginning to collect our teaching stories. Right now, there’s a small group of authors (a couple of my colleagues, a couple of math twitter friends, and a friend from college) who are challenging themselves to reflect on – and document – that one good thing. If you’d like to participate and post to the blog, just let me know. I think it’s going to be a worthwhile endeavor.

Responses

  1. Me!

  2. After I tell Mr. HalfFull about all the awful things that happened in my day, he usually asks me if anything good happened. Sometimes it’s hard to focus on that, but usually I can pick one thing, even if it’s small and seems inconsequential. It’s so important to remember that there is some good, even on a bad day.

    Good luck with the new blog!

  3. […] has started a group blog called “one good thing.” She wrote about it here, and you can visit the blog […]

  4. I love this idea and would love to contribute. Especially today when I had a horrible end to my day, and I had great colleagues to help me through and even greater kids at tutoring who made me laugh and made it mostly okay.

  5. I love this idea, too, and would really like to contribute.

  6. […] : Project Life templates A & F – Kit : Alive by Scooty’s Designs –3*4 Quote card  – Fonts : Dosis, Bebas, Bebas neue, Dawning of a new day, Broken, Bizarrerie, Bodoni […]

  7. […] One Good Thing (by @rdkpickle, the post that started it all) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

