Posted by: rdkpickle | 05.27.2014

a beginning

So the year ends much like it began, quickly and without a lot of fanfare. I took a long walk on the trails in my neighborhood today, not unlike the one I took exactly one year ago when I decided to make this move. During this year I grew in ways more complicated and surprising than I could have pictured when I invited the change. Battling anxiety and depression while teaching was “a daily exercise in vulnerability” that took the unwavering support of family, friends, and colleagues both old + new, real + virtual to face. A sincere thank you to those of you who got me to this finish line.

I learned: I can face 5 am wakeup calls and a 1st period full of teenagers without coffee. It’s harder to be “on” in a class every day with no drop days – and hardly a chance to get ahead on planning. My questioning techniques need some work; what works with 15 students doesn’t cut it with 30. Sometimes, getting something done quickly is better than getting it done perfectly. Students will frustrate and invigorate, notice the small things, and I will bump into them every time I leave the house this summer.

I have books to read, movies to see, places to go, music to enjoy, friends to catch up with, and plenty of work to do.

And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer. – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Responses

  1. Congrats on making it through the year and teaching some kids some things. Enjoy your big trip(s)!


Leave a Reply

Categories

