Posted by: rdkpickle | 12.13.2015

miles and months later

I talk less. I listen more. I laugh plenty. I collaborate with an incredible team of math teachers. I am mentored by colleagues who are generous with their knowledge and time. I have eased into relationships, into community, into my role here. I struggle with balance. I try to be a daughter, a sister, a friend as life changes come fast and furious. I say no to some opportunities, say yes to others, and remind myself that I’m committing myself to this work for years, not months – and it’s okay to have miles left to go.

IMG_3441

Some moments:

  • Reconsidering and deepening my knowledge of trigonometry based on a sequencing that forced new approaches to concepts, and colleagues who thoughtfully construct student-centered explorations into big ideas
  • H’s question when we were studying Law of Sines about where, exactly, this sinA/a ratio showed up on the physical dimensions of the triangle itself, which led to this new discovery about the circumcircle and its diameter
  • Dance Dance Transversal. Will always remind me of something else, now, something about how the best way to honor someone else’s life is to keep living yours.
  • S’s observation about exterior angles summing to 360 – completely unprompted – in Geometry after discussing exterior angle theorem
  • My Algebra 2 crew. Alternating between amazing days and days that make me want to pull out my hair, this class is never boring. They’ve worked so hard all semester and many of my standout moments have been with them. From Bucky the Badger to sweet sweet Desmos activity builder love, they have come a long way since Day 1.
  • Interleaved homework in Algebra 2. This team is 4 strong, and I follow the lead of my colleagues for the most part on pacing, sequencing, and homework. Nice to see topics spiral back again.
  • Navigating 3 teams with 3 very different personalities and approaches to collaboration. Mostly this just leaves me appreciative of experience and a diversity of teaching styles. “There is no one way.”
  • Desmos activity builder! and Desmos activity builder! and more Desmos activity builder!

IMG_3761

As the semester wraps, trying to honor and celebrate the good things that have happened. I’ll have more time to dive back into Global Math, attend conferences, and hang out with Bay Area tweeps at our meetups soon. These first few months were what they needed to be.

Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 2.23.57 PM.png

Responses

  1. I love your opening paragraph! Even though we miss you, it’s wonderful to hear that you’ve hit your stride in CA.

    The lack of FHS dress code also struck me in those photos! =)

  2. So glad you are enjoying your new home. Those students are lucky to have you!

  3. Such a beautiful post; literally brought tears to my eyes. Of course, I also cry at everything.

    Loved this quote so much: “I’m committing myself to this work for years, not months – and it’s okay to have miles left to go.” I wrote it down and put it on my desk for inspiration.


Leave a Reply

Categories

